Morphology of the root

Root morphology: Generalities

The root is divided into 5 main parts:
meristematic tissue that allows the growth in length of the roots.
Smooth area:
immediately behind the apical meristem, where the cells are differentiated into tissues.
Piliferous area (or zone of root hairs):
characterized by the presence of root hairs; It is the area where nutrient fluids (water and nutrients) are absorbed.
Subery area:
in which the root hairs have fallen and secondary roots are present. This area has mainly a reserve, plant anchorage and nutrient conduction function.
passage area between root and stem.